Continental Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Continental Tire
Shop Performance or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for ContiProContact™

ContiProContact™

All-season Performance & Touring: All-condition versatility...
Average Customer Rating:
2.795 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 star
14
17 out of 3845%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for ContiProContact™
Review 1 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great tire, but. . .

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
kevlar
State: New Jersey
Miles Driven on Tires: 70,000-90,000
Road Conditions: Primarily Highway
Driving Style: Relaxed
Treadlife 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have had the P205 55R 16 89H as original equipment on my 2010 Civic. 72k and treadlife, traction and performance has exceeded my expectations except for two of the four tires have had catasrophic failure on the sidewall. The first happened around 35k and the second happened at 72k. Since this is unrepairable, my concerns for factory imperfections are real yet in reality this will probably not be address due to "normal wear and tear." Confidence is low for this tire as the rapid deceleration has only happened when the car was parked. My concerns are if the rapid depressurization happens on the highway.
Pros: Great Handling, Extended treadlife, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
Cons: sidewall failure x2
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

SSR on 207

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuCiolla90
City: Pisignano
Miles Driven on Tires: 30,000-50,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Enthusiastic
Treadlife 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had the ssr version of this tire in my 207 and i really had fun, sometimes i drive really aggressive and sometimes i go slow, but only until 40k km.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance
Cons: Poor performance in rain
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Garbage Tires

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
City: Springdale
State: Pennsylvania
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Cautious
Treadlife 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These tires came on my 2012 Hyundai Elantra. I've owned the car for 17 months and have 13,300 miles on the car. I baby my vehicle, tires rotated as they should be. I had it in for the next tire rotation two days ago when the dealer tells me they need replaced NOW before we get any snow (I live in southwest PA). Tires are all worn evenly, but ANY tire should last more than 13,000 miles - oh wait, he said I MIGHT get another 1,000 -3,000 on them. I didn't have any problems with these tires, but I certainly would never buy them after this experience - and I'll be sure to check if they're stock on the next car I buy. It WILL make a difference in what I purchase next!
Pros: Hydroplane resistance, Smooth and Quiet ride
Cons: Short treadlife
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Proven to be best

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Khalid Malik
City: Whitby
Miles Driven on Tires: 50,000-70,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Relaxed
ContiProContact Tires came with my new Nissan Altima in 2008. Initially I was worried that the car manufacturer has chosen these cheap tires. Trust me they have performed very well so far with 93000KM on my car. Yes above -10degC and snowy roads was an issue but this was expected from all season tires. Previously used all kind of brands Goodyear, Michelin tires etc but the German technology has once again proven to be reliable. No noise or braking issue. Fuel Economy was always better in Altima in comparison to similar size car by other makers.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Innovative tread design, Hydroplane resistance, Extended treadlife, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

VW CC stock tire

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Treadlife 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Traction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Tires were good for first 10k miles...then started making noise even though I exceeded the 10k rotation cycle by rotating every 5k.
By 20k one pair were well worn and the others going fast.
The car sounded like a truck with off-road tires at low speeds, and lots of vibration at hogher speeds.
The VW service said they were all "chopped up" and they would let the Continental rep know.
I told him I had the exact same thing happen on my Passat which I had right before the CC.
I have not heard back from the VW service rep...so no I'm stuck riding these tires in this noise, horrible state for another 8k until my lease ends, and I can get rid of the car.
I hope they last another 8k, as I am not going to buy new tires with less than 30k miles on a leased vehicle.
Very unhappy with these tires on two VW cars....
Cons: Short treadlife, Noisy, rough ride
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't last

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
City: Pomeroy
State: Washington
Miles Driven on Tires: 30,000-50,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Relaxed
Treadlife 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Traction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Photos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Bought a 2010 Dodge Charger brand new with these tires. The Consumer report review was that they would be a 60,000 mile tire. We have just hit 31,848 and these tires are shot. The car has never been "hot rodded". We are grandparents and take care of our vehicles. Tires have a smooth and quiet ride but did not last. I would reccomend a better quality tire, I am switching to Falkens.
Pros: Smooth and Quiet ride
Cons: Short treadlife
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Manufacturers must get these free

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
LoveGermanCars
City: Chicago
State: Illinois
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Enthusiastic
Treadlife 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Traction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These came standard on my son's VW rabbit, and on my Porsche Panamera 4S. That seems like an awful large price difference to cover with one tire. The problem is that these tires felt low on grip for the VW, let alone for the Porsche. Neither set lasted as long as an all-season should for either car. I replaced the VW with Coopers, and the Porsche with Michelins and have never looked back on either. Continental makes some great products, but this is not one of them. They do look nice though. Don't buy these tires just because they came on your vehicle. There are much better options for much less money.
Pros: Innovative tread design
Cons: Short treadlife, Poor performance in rain, poor performance in snow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TITO
TEMECULA, CA
Looking to replace OE Tires on 2011 Equus
Posted August 19, 2012
Just reached 30,000 mi., and tire-wear markings are 1/8 beneath them. Tire life s/b 50-60,000 mi. Ride is comfortable @ 35psi. Rotated every 7,000 miles. Traction good. BUT, due to the unexpected wear (mainly Highway). I have one other question: Today, I was looking for replacement tires. The guaranteed mileage for my Rear Tire: size (275/40/19 101V) was 60,000. Yet the stated mileage for the Front Tire: size 245/45/19 98v) was 50,000. Please Explain.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

would like to toss them in garbage

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
neednew tires
City: south plainfield
State: New Jersey
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Cautious
Treadlife 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Traction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
tires came on 2011 elantra brand new. 12k miles on car 2 tires already bubbled on sidewall the only thing this tire does well is pick up screws and nails. got another flat today went to get aplug put in and noticed another sidewall bubble.WTF repaired the tire and noticed the rim is bent god forbid you hit a pothole with these tires they'll rattle you right out of your seat!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

265/35/r18

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
JVVALLEJO
City: GRANADA HILLS
State: California
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Enthusiastic
Treadlife 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
tires look very nice but the lifetread is very poor had my e350 with this tires with 29000 miles at the time of purchase on now with 50000 my mbz advisor is telling me that I need new tires that the one's I have wont last no more then 1000 miles. that means that the tire only last me 23000 miles . what happen to the 40000 miles warranty of a normal wear.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Smooth and Quiet ride
Cons: Short treadlife, poor performance in snow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good all-around performance tire

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Treadlife 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am currently driving with these tires on my 2012 Jetta 2.5SE. I love to push my vehicle to its limits, and this tire works well in helping me do just that.
-So far they've lasted me 10k miles under moderately strenuous use with no problems, and less than 25% wear on the Tire Wear Indicator.
-Great braking and take-off performance, and they still have good performance in extremely wet road conditions. Takes quite a lot of speed going around turns for these tires to lose grip.
-Small bumps in the road are reduced to light muffled vibrations.
I cannot attest to the tire performance on more powerful vehicles, but if you have the kind of car that's only meant to get you from A to B, then these tires are great for when you want performance out of your vehicle and when you need it.
Pros: Great Handling, Hydroplane resistance, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good enough for an OEM install

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sean
City: Toronto
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Primarily Highway
Driving Style: Relaxed
Treadlife 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Tires where installed by OEM on my new 2012 VW Passat TDI, they are noisy, hard to balance and show signs of extreme wear even before my first 15000 KM service at VW.
My warranty claim to VW was refused since they do not deal directly with tire manufacturers or so I was told, and they blamed it on my driving habit.
Pros: Short braking distance, Superior traction
Cons: Short treadlife, Noisy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cooper
City: Franklin
State: Tennessee
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Relaxed
Treadlife 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These tires came on my 2012 Mini Cooper S. At 7500 miles I am having to replace the front two tires and the back are not far behind. It seems that $247 per tire is a little steep for only 7500 miles.
Cons: Short treadlife
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Continental on VW's

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
VW Man
City: Dallas
State: Texas
Miles Driven on Tires: 50,000-70,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Relaxed
Treadlife 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had these as OEM on my 2006 VW Jetta and I just now repalced them with the same tire at 55k miles. There are many reviews from VW owners saying thet these tirees only lasted 20k, but mine lasted over 50k on three different cars and multiple sets. Maybe it is the driving style or bad run of tires, but my expereince has always been positive with these tires on all of the VW's I have owned.
Pros: Short braking distance, Extended treadlife, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tires

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Treadlife 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These tires came as OE on my VW Jetta. I have almost 23,000 miles on them and they hardly show any signs of wear.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TDI Man
Wichita
2010 TDI Man
Posted September 11, 2012
The seem to be fairly good tire, came with my new 2010 TDI Golf I have right now as this day 45,000 miles on them, the wear strips are right now at the tread height, time for new tires. The seem to do good in wet and dry, not to good in snow. I got Blizzak for snow, but alias no snow last year. Looking at Potenza, etc.. no laying of rubber at stop light or signs but good traction good cornering and stopping.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This tire, it is not Pirelli P6 4Seasons

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pirelli Fans
City: Toronto
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Relaxed
Treadlife 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Traction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The tires are on my wife's Corolla 2011.
Everything was on acceptable level till the first snow in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
All tires will be replaced as soon as possible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nogo treads

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
nogotreads
City: pittsburgh
State: Pennsylvania
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Primarily Highway
Driving Style: Relaxed
Treadlife 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Traction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tires came as oem on my 2010 jetta wagon. Very fast wear wihin 14000 on front two and 20000 for all four to be replaced. Not happy with the product whatsoever. It is a shame that they wont stand behind a product whether it is good or bad. The name is one of a brand I wont purchase.
Cons: Short treadlife, Poor performance in rain, Noisy, poor performance in snow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NO TREADLIFE

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
BADCOP, NO TIRES
City: SODUS
State: New York
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Primarily City
Driving Style: Other
Treadlife 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Traction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
THESE TIRES CAME ON OUR 6 CYL DODGE CHARGER POLICE CAR. PATROL SMALL VILLAGE, MAINLY ONE DRIVER FOR THIS CAR. WE RAN SNOW TIRES OVER THE WINTER, HAVE 16,000 MILES ON THE CAR TOTAL. THESE TIRES ARE SHOT WITH LESS THAN 10,000 MILES. OUR ALL WHEEL DRIVE DURANGO STOCK TIRES LASTED LONGER.
Pros: Great Handling, Smooth and Quiet ride
Cons: Short treadlife, poor performance in snow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good tread life, good tire, excellent value.

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
B4UrunFlat
City: Novato
State: California
Miles Driven on Tires: 30,000-50,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Enthusiastic
Treadlife 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have these tires on a BMW 325Ci (OEM) and they have just over 40,000 miles on them. The rear tires will easily last another 10,000! Unfortunately both front tires have wear on the insides (possibly due to alignment issues but BMW's are notorious for this type of wear on the front tires due to the camber and the way the suspension is set up).
These tires have been quiet, have handled well and with confidence in the rain and on dry pavement and have survived the awful SFO Bay Area roads for 6 years! (and I push my car HARD quite often).
The street prices on these tires are ridiculously cheap, and even if a set only lasted three years they would be good value!
I will replace my old tires with these again.... there is a good reason why BMW installs them as original equipment.
PS. BMW does not recommend rotating tires.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Hydroplane resistance, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad treadlife

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Snooker
City: Barry
State: Texas
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Primarily Highway
Driving Style: Cautious
Treadlife 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Traction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Came as original equipment on new VW CC. Two front tires lasted 14,000 miles, rotated back to front and bought two new tires for rear. The rotated tires lasted 18,000.
These are terrible tires for the VW CC.
Pros: Smooth and Quiet ride
Cons: Short treadlife, Poor performance in rain
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Driver
Wake Forest
Strange
Posted March 14, 2012
I have the same tires on my VW CC Sport, have done 37,500 miles and 3 out of 4 tires should last another 8 - 10,000 miles. Rotated tires every 10,000 miles. Drive quite hard and fast.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for ContiProContact™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
haraqyal
City: Van Nuys
State: California
Miles Driven on Tires: 50,000-70,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Aggressive
Treadlife 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Over 62000 City/Hwy miles within 3 years on VW Golf.
Pros: Short braking distance, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>