Continental Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Continental Tire
Shop OE or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for CrossContact™ LX

CrossContact™ LX

This luxury tire minimizes noise and provides a consistent ride in all-season conditions.
Average Customer Rating:
3.267 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
9 out of 1560%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for CrossContact™ LX
Review 1 for CrossContact™ LX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Good Tire

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Treadlife 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had these on my 2001 Yukon XL (last few years I owned the vehicle..before I sold it in 2010). They were fantsastic. Just put them on my 2007 Suburban. They are quiet and as good as I remember them from before. Was going to put them on my wife's 2010 Buick Enclave....but they are back-ordered till late March...so will pick a different brand.
Pros: Great Handling, Extended treadlife, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CrossContact™ LX
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not a good snow tire

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
ready set go
City: lima
State: Ohio
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Primarily City
Driving Style: Defensive
Treadlife 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Traction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
the Continential CrossContact™ LX has not performed in the snow as expected. This tire would be good for southern states where rain is the most inclement weather they would see.
Pros: Smooth and Quiet ride
Cons: poor performance in snow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CrossContact™ LX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad batch?

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
paybob
City: reno
State: Nevada
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Primarily Highway
Driving Style: Defensive
Treadlife 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Traction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
tires were warranty for 65,000. Only got 23,000 out them before the tires were down to indicator wear bar. Rotated them every 6,000. The tires all wore down evenly. No alignment/suspension problems with my vehicle so that can be to blame. Must have been a bad batch of rubber?
Cons: Short treadlife
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CrossContact™ LX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Ive ever owned

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
fishalot
City: Chippewa Falls
State: Wisconsin
Miles Driven on Tires: 30,000-50,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Relaxed
Treadlife 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Traction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The CrossContact LX is the worst tire I've ever owned by far. Winter traction is terrible. At 34,000 miles, the tread is down to the wear bars already. Other than that, they're just average. I've had many other brands and haven't had such poor results from any others. Definitely stay away from this tire in northern climates.
Cons: Short treadlife, poor performance in snow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CrossContact™ LX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

50/50

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
whitecobratwo
City: coral springs
State: Florida
Miles Driven on Tires: 30,000-50,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Cautious
Treadlife 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Original set came with my 07 Ford Edge. Worked fine then became noisy at 23,000 as they wore out prematurely. Replaced with same (buy 3 get 1 free) which then lasted to 37,000.00 until becoming noisy again - some tread left- maybe another 4-5k if I pushed them. Nonethess for the price - they are a decent tire with good traction, performance and overall quiet - until they're worn. South Florida roads are tougher on tires I believe. We'll see how this 3rd set does....
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Hydroplane resistance, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CrossContact™ LX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

12,000 miles on tires and i cant even tell they have been used yet!

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
vanilliagorillia
City: charleston
State: South Carolina
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Relaxed
Treadlife 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I replaced the oe tires ( contitrac suv) with the cross contact lx and i have a little over 12,000 miles and i seriously cant even tell i have put any miles on them at all. they still look brand new! i have towed a 16ft trailer loaded down with stuff several times and these tires performed flawlesly. i have four kids that get transported on these tires on a daily basis and i not one time have worried about these tires performance, not in rain, total down pours, snow, and the extreme heat. i live in south carolina and travel to ohio twice a year. so basically i have put these tires through every condition possible. I really do love these tires. i wonder if the lx20's are much better? cause when it come time to get another set, i will be getting the cross contact lx again or the lx20's. eitherway i recomend these tires to my friends all the time and i suggest everyone put them on there suv cause you will not regret it!
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Hydroplane resistance, Extended treadlife, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CrossContact™ LX
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very dissapointed in this tire

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tireweary
City: Roanoke
State: Virginia
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Primarily City
Driving Style: Cautious
Treadlife 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Traction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have a 2007 Ford Edge. This tire came on the car. I have 26000 miles on my car and started hearing noise from the rear. Dealer said the tires are cupping and only have about 5000 miles left on tread. These tires are rated 65000 mile tread life. I have rotated my tires every other oil change as suggested. When continental was called to see if they would warranty the tire I was refused. I will NEVER buy these tires.
Cons: Short treadlife, Noisy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CrossContact™ LX
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

OE on my Honda CRV making noise won't make it to 30,000 mi.

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pleck
City: Hamden
State: Connecticut
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Cautious
Treadlife 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I went to the Honda dealer because the tires were making noise. I asked to rotate the tires. Tech advised against it, he said the tire are out of round thats what was making the noise. He recommended changing all four tires. I have only 29,000 miles on the tires. Anybody know if there is a recall on these tires. They were good for the first 25,000 mi
Cons: Short treadlife, Noisy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted January 3, 2012
If tires are cupping or out of round. It's the fault of the cars suspension. The Dealer was trying to displace blame so they would not have to work on your vehicle.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for CrossContact™ LX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my 1999 Tahoe 4X4

PostedApril 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
1911Racegun
City: Bailey Island, ME
State: Maine
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Enthusiastic
Treadlife 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these to replace Continental SUV tires no longer in production and on which I got 60,000 miles. Stated tread life and handling were decision makers for me. I am very impressed with the wet weather handling and these CrossContact LX are quieter and offer a better ride than the previous set of SUV's. If I get the expected life from them, I'll be very happy indeed. And, the appearance is just fine, thank you!
Pros: Great Handling, Hydroplane resistance, Extended treadlife, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CrossContact™ LX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cross Contact LX on RAV4

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Treadlife 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just purchased these tires to replace the Yokohama G91's that came stock on my wife's 2006 RAV4 Limited V6. From my prior research, it seems everything is a tradeoff with tires. Some do certain things well, but then do other things less well. Safety was my first concern (upstate NY winters), followed by noise and ride smoothness. I don't have any longevity or fuel efficiency comments yet as they are still very new. But first impressions are that they are quiet, however they do ride a little more firm than the OEM Yoko's. There is also a slight rumble to the steering wheel (but not a shimmy like they are out of balance), I believe due to the more aggressive tread. Final thoughts: I like them because of their overall good all-weather handling and safety ratings, but they make the RAV feel a little more "truck-like" compared to original tires.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CrossContact™ LX
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointment

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
State: Florida
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Primarily City
Driving Style: Enthusiastic
This is the second set of Cross Contacts that I have purchased for my 2004 Volvo XC90 AWD. First set, excellent...no complaints. This go around I am very disappointed. Within 6 months of having the tires put on the car (with average miles, average driving), the tread is horrible. Even a light punch on the gas and the tires are squealling. So, "F" for traction. I give everything else and average rating. I will probably buy another brand for the next go 'round; which, I am afraid, is going to be sooner rather than later.
Cons: Short treadlife, Poor performance in rain
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CrossContact™ LX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong performing tire

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Honda Ridgeline
City: Rolla
State: Missouri
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Defensive
Treadlife 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I replaced OEM Michelin's with the Crosscontact. Excellent decision, the tire is quieter, excellent wet traction and snow traction is very good. I will buy again.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Hydroplane resistance, Extended treadlife, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CrossContact™ LX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

RV Tire

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mike
City: Hempstead
State: Texas
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Primarily Highway
Driving Style: Relaxed
Treadlife 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The tires were installed this year prior to one of our camping trips. I noticed the fuel efficiency increased and the ride quality was much better than the previous tires we had on our coach. I would highly recommend these tires to anyone looking for replacement tires on a motor coach.
Pros: Great Handling, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CrossContact™ LX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful tire trust me i know!

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
City: salt lake city
State: Utah
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Primarily City
Driving Style: Enthusiastic
Treadlife 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Photos
User submitted photo
i am am a service advisor for a chrysler, dodge, dealer. i know tires. after a long time of looking into tires i found the continental crosscontact lx tire to be the best purchase for my 2006 honda ridgeline. I live in salt lake city, Utah and am a avid skier and moutain biker. So i spend alot of time in the washatch front in all kinds of weather and tempratures after many ski trips i have driven the tires in many inches of ice and snow and have found the tires to be exceptional in the snow and very quiet on the road. I also think they are better then the oem factory tires. i have sold people many tires and im sure after the 12 years of service experiance i would no a good tire from a bad one i think you will also find this to be the best mix of tire ( snow,a/t, wear,noise,normal driving, rain,) when i look at the tread it is nothing to right home about but look a the utqgl and info on low rolling resistance tires then buy the tires listed and im sure you will be happy.
Pros: Extended treadlife, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for CrossContact™ LX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cross Contact Tires for 2004 Ram 2500 4x4

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Treadlife 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance is very good but cosmetics not so good. Was told by the dealer that these tires cannot be mounted with the blackwall on the outside. The white lettering looks terrible, so if you buy these tires, ask the dealer to paint over the white lettering.
Pros: Great Handling, Innovative tread design, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
Cons: no blackwall alernative
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.