Continental Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Continental Tire
Shop Winter or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for ExtremeWinterContact™

ExtremeWinterContact™

Serious performance for serious winter driving conditions
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for ExtremeWinterContact™
Review 1 for ExtremeWinterContact™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tires

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Treadlife 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I put a set of these on my A4 quattro last winter. They didn't miss a beat. I like the softer ride that they have unlike the all-seasons I usually use. The quattro already went through the snow pretty well with the all-seasons, but those tires didn't stop well. These winter tires transform my heavy A4. It stops unbelievably quick now, and there is little if any wheelspin. The only thing that will stop my car now is snow so deep that it's dragging under the car or being plowed by the bumper. I'll never go without these winters they're simply great tires.
Pros: Short braking distance, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ExtremeWinterContact™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dodge 2012 Caravan Handicap Conversion

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just installed winter tyres our my son's van. Initial drivibility is very good. Ride comfort good with starting tyre pressure at 40psi.
Bring on the winter conditions so we can tell more about the winter Extreme. This is the third vehicle we have put a Conti Extreme on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ExtremeWinterContact™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

impressed

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
State: Wisconsin
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Aggressive
Treadlife 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coming up on my 3rd year with these tires on my 2011 WRX. These tires work great in the winter and can go through a ton of snow here in Wisconsin. I have gone through snow over 12 inches deep when going down some rural driveways without an issue. I also don't use traction control during the winter because it doesn't let the tires work as they are designed.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Superior traction
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ExtremeWinterContact™
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not impressed

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick3010
City: Plymouth
State: Michigan
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Primarily Highway
Driving Style: Enthusiastic
Treadlife 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I drive a 2001 BMW 540i manual. As this is my second 5 series of this type I have some comparison of tires I used on this vehicle over the years. I the past I used several winter tire brands which till now I found the Michelin Alpines the best. Since the Conti's came great out of all tests and were cheaper than the Michelins I decided to go with the ExtremeWinter contacts this season.
First impression of the tire was very positive. The tires are very quiet and also the comfort level is very impressive. I drove a few times in the rain where the quietness and comfort was also much better than any tire I ever had.
However it quickly went downhill from there. I noticed that during more sporty accelerations (2-3 gear half throttle or so) the traction control has to work overtime to keep the wheels from spinning. This is not a one time event; on almost every surface the tires tend to spin very easy even on dry surface. Ambient temperatures when experienced this was around 30-45 F.
Last week I tried the tires in the first snow of this season. I have to say I was disappointed with the first result. Grip and traction felt way way less than the Michelin Alpin also the traction control was again doing overtime. I tried different tire pressures but no success to improve performance.
Based on previous experiences and this first impression I recommend to invest a small amount more per tire for the Michelins.
Sorry Conti; This summer I will try your summer tire the Extreme Contact.
Rick
Tire size: 225/55-16
Pros: Smooth and Quiet ride, comfort
Cons: Poor performance in rain, poor performance in snow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ExtremeWinterContact™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best non studed Tires on the market

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris R
City: Wiesbaden, Germany
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Enthusiastic
Treadlife 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a set of P235/45R17's for my Bonneville to drive to the Alps from Germany. Installed on Thursday, drove on Friday through a huge snow storm that left 3" of ice on the road. Doing my part not to make any abrupt accelerator and brake in-put, I never lost traction or spun a wheel. Not only that, the drive upto the snow was at 90+ mph (autobohn) and the tires never missed a beat. Growing up south of Buffalo, NY, I have seen winter tires, but never the quality of these. Thank you for an outstanding product. Tire Rack.com comparison of winter tires was my basis for choosing these tires. Exceeded my expectations. Thank you.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Innovative tread design, Hydroplane resistance, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
Cons: Short treadlife, soft compound but aids in intended purpose.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ExtremeWinterContact™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best offroad rally tire - Tested on a

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laredo World Rally Team
City: Laredo
State: Texas
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Off-road
Driving Style: Aggressive
Treadlife 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Photos
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
We are an international racing team that have a tight budget, and recently we came in from Skandinavia to race at an off road in Texas with our FIA homologated Peugeot 206 XS rally car. We needed some heavy duty 14" medium compound gravel tires but no manufacturer had any under $190 USD, so we searched and discovered this unique tire with a somewhat sticky compound which worked like magic on the Texas terrain with dirt, rocks and cactus. Below is a video proving these tires can handle offroad and survive with no flats. Wish they made a 40x13.5x17 size to go race it in the desert with our offroad rig. Thanx Continental you guys rock!
Laredo World Rally Team
Pros: Great Handling, Innovative tread design, Superior traction, great off road tire, rally car gravel tire
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ExtremeWinterContact™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet performance

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Treadlife 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Photos
User submitted photo
These tires are the quietest snows I ever had. Excellent performance in cold, dry, wet and of course snow/ice. Wear seems to be a little high but for the improved cold performance well worth the trade off. Being able to cross rotate helps with noise/wear as compared to directional versions. Dry road handling on par or even better than factory all seasons. Sidewalls a little soft giving slight mushy feel for response but great for absorbing bumps and smooth ride.
10" fresh snow and able to drive in a Hyundai Sonata (until the snow packed to far in front and underneath) backed out no problems. Other snow/ice occasion, friends 4WD trucks stuck on hill with all seasons all 4 spinning. I stopped to check if they needed help and then drove off in my front wheel drive with ExtremeWinterContacts.
Pros: Great Handling, Hydroplane resistance, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ExtremeWinterContact™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Winter Tires!

PostedApril 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in northern Ontario Canada, and put these on my 2010 Mazda3 Sport GT-E, performed superbly on both ice and snow, and bare pavement as well. By far the best winter tires I've ever used!
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Superior traction
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ExtremeWinterContact™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Traction

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Old School
State: Nebraska
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Enthusiastic
Treadlife 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Nebraska and drive a RWD vehicle without limited slip. I have about 5,000 miles on these since new. They are fantastic on snow and ice. They have totally transformed my winter driving experience. They ride smoother and are much quieter than the original equipment, all-season tires. I drive about 25,000 miles / year, and intend to use these year-round. I hope to get two years out of them, then replace with the same thing.
Pros: Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ExtremeWinterContact™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tire

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
WildWillie
City: Yorktown
State: Virginia
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Primarily Highway
Driving Style: Defensive
Treadlife 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In live in Southern Virginia, work in Northern Maryland and live in Southern Maryland during the week. I put over 1,000 miles per week on my truck. I've driven in deep snow and ice with these tires and they never lost grip. They are very smooth riding warm weather highway tires. I'm very pleased with these tires and will buy again. I highly recommend you check out these tires if you need to purchase a light pick up tire.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Innovative tread design, Hydroplane resistance, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride, great looking
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ExtremeWinterContact™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tire

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tech99098
City: Antioch
State: Illinois
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Primarily Highway
Driving Style: Aggressive
Treadlife 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This winter tire is like day and night compared to an all season in winter. Very stable and are quiet at highway speeds.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Innovative tread design, Hydroplane resistance, Extended treadlife, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ExtremeWinterContact™
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really a smooth riding great tire !

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Legacydriver
City: Shelton
State: Connecticut
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Enthusiastic
Fun ride, secure and smooth. Quiet too. So far driven only 4K miles. Can't wait to drive in the snow and report. Definitely well worth the buy. I drive on winding hilly terrain and usually my tires last only about 35K or so miles. Hope to get a lot more with these Continentals based on the ratings. Currently too early to tell about tread life.
PS: Mileage is slightly traded off for traction, which is well worth the extra safety.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Innovative tread design, Hydroplane resistance, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride, look and feel show great worksmanship
Cons: slightly reduced mpg
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.