Continental Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Continental Tire
Shop Passenger/Coupe/Minivan or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology

ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology

Average Customer Rating:
4.235 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
13 out of 1681%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Review 1 for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Tread life nnot close to 80K

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Prius123
City: boston
State: Massachusetts
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Relaxed
Treadlife 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I also am Prius owner. I have driven the tires less 30k and are down to 2/32 on all four tires. Tires are good otherwise. I rotated the tires every 5 to 6K but do not keep the have documentation so will not even try to use the milaege warrenty.
Maybe just not the tire for Prius.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Hydroplane resistance, a little noisy when new, good wet and snow traction
Cons: Short treadlife
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fiat 500

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
websmack
State: North Carolina
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Primarily Highway
Driving Style: Enthusiastic
Treadlife 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliable tire so far. Provides good handling of my 2400 lb FIAT which lives up to it's reputation of a choppy ride with these dealer installed tires. I have no doubt Procontacts add stability during rain. Treadlife is good at 5500 miles, wearing evenly. The front left tire loses a bit of pressure weekly but there's no obvious leak and no damage. They came filled with nitrogen but I won't refill due to local unavailability. Semi-urban mpg is 35 urban and 39 highway. I'm happy so far and hope to get decent mileage.
Pros: Great Handling, Superior traction
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Treadlife

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
cdl
City: Pittsburgh
State: Pennsylvania
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Relaxed
Treadlife 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased a full set of these tires, for my '07 Prius based on Consumers Report recommendation. With an 80,000 warranted treadlife I assumed these would be the last set I would need for this car. Today, after 15,629 miles, my service advisor told me I had 5, 5, 4. & 3/32nds of treadware left. This is a Prius for goodness sake, driven in the city and on the highway with care!!! I have my own compressor, so the tires are always inflated properly, After 10,387 miles I had a four wheel alighment, not due to any problem, but to maintain the tread wear. The only problem is that I had only one rotation which was over the 8,000 miles so the warranty is of no value.
Other than the above, I was completely satisfied, but with the absolutely horrible tread life I would never recommend these tires.
Pros: Smooth and Quiet ride
Cons: Short treadlife
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Tires wore out quickly

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mountain High
City: Golden
State: Colorado
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Primarily Highway
Driving Style: Relaxed
Treadlife 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Traction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was quite excited about this tire after reading a very positive review of it in Consumer Reports magazine. I installed a new set on my 2005 Toyota Prius in September 2011 with about 70,000 miles on my car. I am in sales, so I rack up miles very quickly.
For the most part, the tires performed well except in the snow, at which time they performed poorly. I did not see any increase in my gas mileage. What was very disappointing was tread life. I rotate my tires every 5,000 miles and check the tire pressure regularly, Alas, the tires were nearly bald after only 18,000 miles. As a result, I went with another tire and would not buy these again.
Pros: Smooth and Quiet ride
Cons: Short treadlife, poor performance in snow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
USA
Check tire presure
Posted August 30, 2012
Those Prius really have a temperament without OEM recommendations.
The tire pressure at time of alignment must fit, or you could end up with what hok1 is saying?
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
hok1
Long Beach, California
Check wheel alignment please
Posted July 10, 2012
Most common cause for short tire tread life is wheel alignment off.
+1point
2of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 5 for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Purchased made based on Consumer Reports recommendation

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
hok
City: Long Beach
State: California
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Defensive
Fuel Efficiency 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased a set of four ProContact™ EcoPlus based on Consumer Reports recommendation. Since tires are newly installed, I won't know the tread life until few years later. In contrast, my last set of tires were Michelin HydroEdge. They lasted about 90,000 miles for about 3 years of driving. I compare Continental ProContact™ EcoPlus with Michelin HydroEdge, every aspect is about the same except cheaper. I was hoping Continental ProContact™ EcoPlus enhances fuel efficiency. Unfortunately, gas mileage is about the same as Michelin HydroEdge as well. :(
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
Cons: no enhanced fuel efficiency from my last tires
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Huuhoo
CT
Fuel Mileage
Posted July 9, 2012
Fuel Mileage is based on getting an extra 3000 miles worth of gas during the 80,000 life span of the tire. Therefore you will see perhaps 1/2 gallon or less usage improvement at every fill up. Not much but over the life of the tire you should save enough to pay for the tires. This is according to the fuel savings calculator on this web site that is if you follow all tire maintenance recomdations
0points
1of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tire

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andy
City: Southeast
State: Georgia
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Defensive
Treadlife 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Put these tires on my 2002 Ford Focus Wagon - have had them on for about 1 year and 6,000 miles. They are smooth riding and preserve the great handling of the Focus. They are equal to local driving and Interstate Highway speeds. No pulling, no vibration at any allowable speed. Can't comment on treadlife, but if they give me more than 30,000 they will beat any other tire I've ever had on the car.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Innovative tread design, Hydroplane resistance, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2009 Jeep Patriot AWD -AWESOME!

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hydruland
City: Pasadena
State: Maryland
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Defensive
Treadlife 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Photos
User submitted photo
Awesome tires! Replaced the stock Wranglers with EcoPlus and has totally changed how the vehicle drives! Everything is better; ride, fuel economy, braking, traction! The vehicle now just seems to glide doen the road!
Another family vehicle came with regular ProContact tires (Nissan) and they are just as excellent!
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Innovative tread design, Hydroplane resistance, Extended treadlife, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Quality and durability

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
HummerGang
State: Texas
Treadlife 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these tires, my new 2011 Nissan Altima Sedan have the perfect tires ever made. These tires excel in all the departments. I usually get the air filled once in 6months, still my car n my tires gives me amazing performance. I recommend this to everyone who cares about their vehicle.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Innovative tread design, Hydroplane resistance, Extended treadlife, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tire

PostedJune 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Defensive
Treadlife 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these tires for my 2006 Chrysler Pacifica and could not be happier. I have always been a big fan of Michelin and still am, but the Conti Pro Contact with Eco Plus and Conti Pro Contact tires have changed my mind. I am a Mercedes Benz Team Service Manager and recommend Continental tires to a lot of my Clients. Great job on making a excellent tire that lasts a long time, is not to noisy, and friendly on your wallet. I have not really noticed to much of a fuel savings, but that was not my primary reason for buying this tire.
Pros: Short braking distance, Extended treadlife
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible Tires in all conditions ****Must read review****

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mr Picky About Tires
City: Kansas CIty
State: Missouri
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Relaxed
Fuel Efficiency 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased a set for my 2009 4WD Honda CR-V replacing the OEM tires with 26k miles. All aspects of these tires are an considerable improvement over previous OEM tires.
The Continental ProContact ECOPlus tires now have just over 1,200 miles on them & I have been able to test them in all kinds of conditions.
##Fuel Economy: No change in MPG but I bought them because of their excellent price and great reviews.
##Dry Traction: Tires do not spin on fast acceleration, braking is quick and without skidding. Tires are stable, firm and have exceptional ability to control vehicle.
##Wet Traction: Couldn't even tell the road was wet. Slightly longer braking distance when aggressively braking, only spun tires when accelerating around a 90 degree turn at over 20 mph.
##Hydroplaning: Could not get tires to hydroplane under severe, torrential downpour. Did finally get traction control to kick in when driving through 3-5 inch "puddles" at highway speeds. Tires did not pull steering wheel when driving in puddles which allowed very good steering control. Did experience a lot of noise as the tires cleared the water from the road up under my vehicle.
##Ice Traction: Surprised me. When driving on ice the first time I had to stop, get out and try to stand on the road to believe the road was definitely ice. On highway drove carefully - under 50 mph and was shocked when I confirmed it was ice. Could easily drive normally without notice that the road was ice. Only when stopping or accelerating aggressively did tires to slide or traction control kick in.
##Deep Snow: (6" of snow) These tires did very well. It took work to make the vehicle slide or spin. No problems accelerating or breaking normally. Tested in a parking lot at 50mph never had any trouble getting around and NEVER felt out of control.
##Cornering Stability: Also surprised me. Steering responds accurately, the tires remain firm and stable allowing excellent ability to control the vehicle completely through the entire corner.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Hydroplane resistance, Superior traction
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
25of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Match For A Civic Hybrid

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
BG - Lenexa
City: Lenexa
State: Kansas
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
I have a 2006 Civic Hybrid with 90,000 miles and the ProContact EcoPlus tires I recently put on have been great so far. As noted by Consumer Reports, the snow, ice and rain traction have all three been quite good- very unusual for an all season radial. The ride is less noisy and much softer than my previous Michelin Primacy MXV4 tires, a plus for the Civic which is noted for its harsher ride. Of course these tires don't corner as well as my old Michelin's, but that isn't as important in a high mileage, slower hybrid. I have also noticed the car wanders somewhat less on the highway than previous sets of tires. Hopefully these tires will net me the claimed $$$ in saved gas, though its been hard to tell so far as winter weather adversely affects Hybrid mileage. I am also anxious to see if the treadlife holds up to the claims as most high mileage tires in the past have had fair to poor tread life. Hope this helps!
Pros: Short braking distance, Hydroplane resistance, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride, very good traction on snow and ice
Cons: doesn't handle as well on corners.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Followup on 2006 Civic Hybrid
Posted August 1, 2012
I now have 30,000 miles on the tires and they are wearing better than I anticipated with no change in my previous comments. Looks like I should be able to get at least 55,000 - 60,000 miles out of the tires.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I've always purchased Continentals

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chrysler Guy
State: South Dakota
Miles Driven on Tires: 10,000-30,000
Road Conditions: Primarily Highway
Driving Style: Relaxed
Fuel Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't say enough - I love the tires. I have them on a Chrysler 300 Touring car - brings out the smooth ride of the Chrysler and great handling.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EcoPlus

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
OdysseyOwner
City: Chesterfield
State: Virginia
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Cautious
Treadlife 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These tires were recommended by a friend who owns a tire store. He has access to anything we'd want and said if he was putting tires on his vehicle he'd choose these. These replaced the OEM Michelins on our Odyssey which only lasted 30,000 miles. We're hoping for better out of the EcoPlus tires. So far about 6,000 miles on the new tires and they appear to be quieter, wearing well and have decent traction in wet or dry conditions. So far they've been in light snow but haven't tried anything more than that. I haven't really had opportunity to calculate gas mileage with these but like the idea that it might be a bit better. Overall the price on these was one of the best given the options we had for replacement tires. At the time we bought them too there was a TomTom give away also so that was a nice perk. I hope to still write a positive review 20 and 30,000 miles from now.
Pros: Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific Tire

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tom
City: Peoria
State: Arizona
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Primarily City
Driving Style: Defensive
This tire replaced an OEM of another brand. The Continental tire is much quiter and provides a smoother ride. This is an outstanding tire for general use and is not at all disappointing. Excellent value for the price.
Pros: Great Handling, Innovative tread design, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best value

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Car Freak
City: Medford
State: New Jersey
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Enthusiastic
Treadlife 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Traction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this set to replace my OEM Michelin and I will say they are very comparable to each other in terms of noise, handling, and performance but almost 30 to 40% cheaper. The only drawback is I dont find these tires any more economical to run. I have about 3000 miles on the tires and properly run in but I got similar mileage as before. I havent notice any improvement at all. But over all a quiet, good handling dry and wet, and offer comfortable ride so far but havent tried them out on snow or ice yet.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
Cons: not fuel saving as advertised
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You must really love your wife

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
State: New York
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Road Conditions: Combined Highway/City
Driving Style: Relaxed
Treadlife 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fuel Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
That was the quote from a good friend. She was riding with my wife, heading home from a girls-dinner. Upstate NY snowstorm and they were driving along like the roads were clear while others were slipping and sliding around.
I was on a business trip in Iowa when I got that call, I slept very well that night.
A few dollars more than some tires, but money well spent.
Can't accurately comment on treadlife, only a few thousand miles on the tires, but wearing very well so far.
Pros: Great Handling, Short braking distance, Hydroplane resistance, Superior traction, Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ProContact™ with EcoPlus Technology
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost unbelievably good

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Miles Driven on Tires: Less 10,000
Traction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only had the tire for a few hundred miles so this is a first impression review: Vehicle 2009 Honda Odyssey; Tire is a night and day difference from OEM in terms of comfort and quietness. Conti is incredibly smooth riding and has transformed a relatively loud vehicle into a much quieter one. Did not necessarily buy for improved mpg and have yet to check. Traction seems good and has retained the good handling characteristics and road feel of the Odyssey. Pending tread life evaluation would absolutely buy again.
Pros: Smooth and Quiet ride
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Farmer
Quincy, Illinois
excellent tires
Posted December 27, 2011
I replaced my Good Year Dble Eagle tires on my Toyota Corola 2009 year model car recently and have noticed an improvement in handling, ride and steering also may have improved my gas mileage somewhat. I am very satisfied with the tires as I had tryed another competitor's tires and drove them for approximately 600 miles and was an unhappy and traded them in for the excellent ProContact with EcoPlus Technology. A super all around tire.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Comment (1)